Haute-Couture FW 2015-2016, III : Valentino “Mirabilia Romae”

Hello you 🙂

I still have a couple of reviews to write about the amazing Haute-Couture Week FW 2015. In my opinion, two shows were clearly outstanding … That’s why, exceptionally, I will dedicate one entire post to each of them.

In this third part, we travel to Italy ! Valentinos show took place in Roma, on the Piazza Mignanelli. The runway was settled in the street.

 

Honestly, I am so impressed I don’t really know what to say … Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli already demonstrated their talent, so I always have high expectations when it comes to Valentino. And the least we can say is that they never ever disappoint. Long dresses with perfectly cut drapés are their must-have item. But we are always surprised to see what they have made of it, since they renew it everytime.

For this new Couture collection, the duo used three main colors : black (the majority), red and gold. This limited color scheme is a nice choice for the brand. We cannot help but associate vibrant red with a tribute to Mister Valentino, who was in the audience. I adore the cut of the ninth dress : the top lets her sides free, and the cape is fixed on the shoulders and hides them. The 20th is basically a lace patchwork, the way they placed the bands is very pretty. But I think my faaavorite is the  gown worn by Lineisy : stunning, the way it hangs, the flowing cut,  the work it represents … Just amazing ! The red coat is another main piece. Indeed I like the trimmings a lot. I don’t think that is the first time they use this technique and I find it totally relevant as a closing of a Couture piece. You can see it on the arms too, on top and at the wrists. The middle outfit looks very presigious with its golden brocade and velvet cape. I think it’s made of silk, so yeah, it looks … princely 🙂 . The golden dresses bring a radiant glow to the whole presentation. They are somptuous too, probably made of precious material. It looks amazing on a black-skinned model ! At the end, we were shown many black velvet dresses. This fabric is appropriate for the season. It is often seen as something old-fashionned or a fabric used to make curtains ^^, but a nice velvet like this one can be very modern for Couture. It depends on the cut of the outfit, and here the drapé is very pretty.

When I watch this, I feel like the girls never have been as stunning. The beauty look is very important. It is always simple at Valentino, but it really brings to light the beauty of the girls. Make-up is very light, so the skin breathes. The complexion is fresh and bright, everything we’d love to be in the morning ^^. The hair is twisted behind the head and ends into a small braid. I love their accessories : Golden headwear adorns their forehead and gets lost into their locks, with stars, leafs, elephants. Chic.

The whole show is here

 

Did you enjoy it as much as I did ?

xx

Emmanuelle

6 thoughts on “Haute-Couture FW 2015-2016, III : Valentino “Mirabilia Romae”

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot oof times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance”
    between usability andd visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a amazing job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Internet explorer.
    Excellent Blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

